Home > Finance > Writing a Letter of Complaint to Your Bank

Writing a Letter of Complaint to Your Bank

By: Jeff Durham - Updated: 15 Feb 2024 | comments*Discuss
 
Complaining Complaint Letter Tips

Over recent years, we have all become more aware of people writing letters to their bank complaining of unfair bank charges which have been levied against them and, having read some useful tips, many people have been successful in getting charges refunded as a result of their complaint.

There is another article on this website which is specifically aimed at writing a letter of complaint to have charges refunded. However, there are many other reasons why you may have complaints about your bank and here are some useful tips in what you should be looking out for if you decide to write a letter of complaint to your bank.

Reasons Why You May Write a Letter of Complaint to Your Bank

Apart from trying to reclaim unfair bank charges, there are several other reasons why you may want to be complaining to your bank. You may have been the victim of a pushy salesperson who has not given you an opportunity to consider a financial product or service carefully before getting you to sign an agreement. You may have been missold a product or service or may be experiencing difficulty in cancelling an agreement. Whatever your reason for complaining to the bank, your letter should include the following useful tips.

Tips on How to Write the Letter

Firstly, be knowledgeable. By demonstrating in your letter that you know your rights when it comes to a particular agreement you’ve made, the more likely the bank is going to take your complaint seriously.

Your letter should be written in a calm and polite tone. Nevertheless, it should be firm. You should be specific in terms of what you’re complaining about and what you are seeking as compensation or as some other form of acceptable resolution.

Make sure you include any relevant dates and any reference numbers pertaining to your particular complaints and, where possible, make sure you send it to a relevant named person if you’re able to obtain that information, as opposed to just the ‘customer service department’.

Also include a timescale in your letter by which you want the bank to acknowledge your correspondence although be reasonable with this as banks will often have many complaints to deal with.

Example of a Letter of Complaint to a Bank

Dear Mr. Jones,

REF: PPI/0545674 JBH

I would like to make a complaint about the personal protection insurance policy – reference number above - which I was sold by your field sales representative Jason Abell recently when I took out an unsecured loan with your bank on 2nd April, 2008.

I felt I was rushed into agreeing to this policy being tacked onto my loan agreement and it was only later when I was able to read the small print in the agreement that I realised that, due to being self-employed, I would not be entitled to make any claim against the policy were I to become ill and have to take time off work. Therefore, as the policy would not cover me for payments on the loan if I was to become ill, I wish to cancel the policy under the terms of the 28 days cooling off period and to have the money paid towards it so far refunded to my account.Please acknowledge receipt of this complaint within 28 days and I look forward to your co-operation regarding this matter.

Yours sincerely,

Mr. John B. Hall

At this stage, you shouldn’t let your complaining be threatening in any way. At least allow the bank to acknowledge that they have received your letter and to address how they intend to deal with your complaint. It’s only if you get no joy that you should then send a second letter emphasising your rights under the terms and conditions of your agreement that you could also add into that second letter that if you weren’t to receive the resolution you are seeking, that you would be looking to take matters further with the Financial Ombudsman, for example.

In other words, ‘save your powder’ for later and at least give the bank the opportunity to put matters right itself without you having to resort to the threat of taking further action. You can always do that later, if need be.

You might also like...
Share Your Story, Join the Discussion or Seek Advice..
[Add a Comment]
I would like to ask when i will receive my refund from carrefour...i spoke to them and they said its already transfer in my bank account..Pls kindly check because i am waiting 16days now for my refund..Thank you
Grace - 15-Feb-24 @ 10:52 AM
Dear sir, I would like to say that me Shahbaz ahmed have already received NOC of loan from jazz cash mobilink microfinance company But I am still in defalter list of easy paisa and other relevant loan apps kindly make me able to avail loan from easypaisa and other bank thanks regards Shahbaz ahmed district pishin
Shabo star - 14-Feb-24 @ 4:12 PM
Payment credited but not receive my amount 1619 rupees please check. Allready rrnreceive but not refund my amount
Yadav - 13-Feb-24 @ 8:44 PM
???? ASIX ATM ???? ?????? 1,000? 30/01/2024 19:12 ??? ?? ?? ??? ?? ?? ??? ?? ????? ??? ??? ?? ?????? ???? ? ?? ????? ????
Dileep Kumar - 1-Feb-24 @ 3:03 AM
I have reopened my PNB saving account after 10 years. But no one explain me about the charges which will deduct. Bank cut 3200/- without any information. How and where I have to complain against bank ?
Bharti Shukla Sharma - 31-Jan-24 @ 10:06 AM
Hello there, I am asking Vellore branch Manager to make enable me to use of net banking since a month. called several times, mailed several times but no response. so please assist me to use of netbanking provision
Masihuddin - 30-Dec-23 @ 5:12 AM
Dear sir your canera bank manager Mr sahil sodh do not change or diposit my 50 rupees stolan currency and miss behave for me your canera bank Prem Nagar branch posted this manager very rude behaviour this person
Lalit - 28-Nov-23 @ 10:09 AM
Acc bank saya ada menerima penolakan tiba2 jdi sekiranya penolakan tersebut ditolak melalui pembayaran kenderaan mala tidak masalah. Kalau ditolak tanpa sengaja ,harap dapat refund segera.
eve - 16-Nov-23 @ 6:40 AM
????? ?????? ???? ??????? ????? , ???? ?? ??????????,????????? 442701 (??. ???????? ) ?????????????????,????? ?????? ?????,?????????, ?????? ???????? ??????????? ????, PM SVANidhiLone ????????? 2023 ?? 10,000 ??? ???? Document ???? ??? verifcation ????? ?? ????????? ??? ???? ?????????? , ????? ??????????? ???,?? ????? ?????? ?????A/c 60323510496 ???? ???? ???, ?? ????? ? ????? ????? PM SVANidhi ??? ???? apply ???? ?? 10,000??? ??? ??? ????, ??? ???? ?????? ????? ?? ?????? ???? ?? ?? ?? ????? ??? ??? ????? ?? ?? ???? ??? ??? ????? ???? ??? ?? ??? ??????, ???? ???? ??? ?????? ?? ????? ?????? ??? ??? ???? ??? ????, ???? ????Statement ???? ?? ??? ??? ?? ????? ?? ??????. ????? ??? ?????? ???? ??????? ????? ???? ?? ??? ??? ???? ??? ?? ????? ? ??? ????
Rahul - 1-Nov-23 @ 1:36 AM
????? ?????? ???? ??????? ????? , ???? ?? ??????????,????????? 442701 (??. ???????? ) ?????????????????,????? ?????? ?????,?????????, ?????? ???????? ??????????? ????, PM SVANidhiLone ????????? 2023 ?? 10,000 ??? ???? Document ???? ??? verifcation ????? ?? ????????? ??? ???? ?????????? , ????? ??????????? ???,?? ????? ?????? ?????A/c 60323510496 ???? ???? ???, ?? ????? ? ????? ????? PM SVANidhi ??? ???? apply ???? ?? 10,000??? ??? ??? ????, ??? ???? ?????? ????? ?? ?????? ???? ?? ?? ?? ????? ??? ??? ????? ?? ?? ???? ??? ??? ????? ???? ??? ?? ??? ??????, ???? ???? ??? ?????? ?? ????? ?????? ??? ??? ???? ??? ????, ???? ????Statement ???? ?? ??? ??? ?? ????? ?? ??????. ????? ??? ?????? ???? ??????? ????? ???? ?? ??? ??? ???? ??? ?? ????? ? ??? ????
Rahul - 1-Nov-23 @ 1:34 AM
I would like to lodge a complaint at nedbank head office with regard to information about investment that is already close. Acc no: 644625639998
Lost - 30-Oct-23 @ 12:17 PM
Dear Sir, my wife last month shopping on 24th Sep-23 and payment from ATM card. salesman two times scan but system error card not scan. we paid cash and when she was check balance two transection amount paid (PKR.14882). we complain on help line and after 10 day our letter TCS but due to my transfer from RYK to Multan said letter not receive any body. we again complain (0946) now he asking after 47 days your amount will return in your account. Bank manager RYK NOT response on phone call we have many time call. Please support and resolve the said issue asap. Account holder name. Shomaila Saeed MCB Rahim Yar Khan Branch (Sadiq Bazar). NIC# 31303-7898166-2.
Saeed Anjum - 26-Oct-23 @ 11:43 AM
Dear Respected Sir/Madam I have paid the monthly installment of IDFC Bank (10-09-2023) along with the extra charges, which are available in the attachment. After that why did the IDFC bank deduct Rs 116 from my account? Please look at my problem and find a solution. It will be very helpful to you. Thanks and regards Nazar Abbas
Abbas - 12-Sep-23 @ 10:41 AM
UBL ???????? ?????????????????? ???? ????? ? ???? ????? ?? ?????? ? ??? UBL????????? ???? ????? ? ???????????? ?? ??? ????? ????? ?? ??? ????? ???????? ????? ??????? ????? ???? ?? ???? ??? ????? ?? ????? ??? ???? ??? ??? ?? ???? ???? ????? ???? ???? ????? ??? ???? ?? ? ?????? ????? ???? ????? ?? ??? ????? ?? ??? ???? ?? ???? ????? ????? ??? 4/5 ????? ?? ???? ??? ???? ??? ???? ??? ??? ????? ?? ??? ???? ???? ??? ???? ??? ? ? ???? ?? ??? ????? ??????? ??? ??? ???? ???? ?????? ??? ????? ?? ?? ??10/15 ???? ??? ?? ??? ???20/25 ??? ??????????? ???? ?? ???? ???? ?? ??? 3 ????????? ??? ????? ??? ?? ???? ????? ?? ?? ??? ???? ???? ???? ???? ?? ?? ?? ??? ?? ??? ????? ??? ???? ???? ?? ???? ??? ?? ???????? ? ????? ???? ????? ?? ??????? ?? ?? ????? ????? ?????? ?????????
Anees - 9-Sep-23 @ 9:05 PM
Account #008370015408. We changed our address at least 6 times with you in the last 4 years and we paid off our car by selling it and needed the lien release expedited on 8/29/23 and you still sent it to wrong address. We haven't lived there in over 4 years.Now buyer wants money back because we don't have lien release so he can't register the car.This is ridiculous! The woman who I spoke to when getting it expedited even verified my correct address! How was it still sent to wrong address?
Tom - 8-Sep-23 @ 8:54 PM
I was debited 100k from POS and it was declined
Nkem - 4-Sep-23 @ 1:15 PM
Sir i have complained many time rigarding nominees name in the account not displayed there's account Sir pls do needful for me Many people whose gaurdian are died are facing problems for there's money Mymo number is 9974936421 I was BC and i had opened there account So pls do needful Thanks
Devang - 2-Sep-23 @ 4:24 PM
Sir Manohar dinaji dhore at .kharkada Tahsil - bramhapuri dist-chandrapur (m.s.) Yancha saving khata bramhapuri shakhet AC no-2999503446 aahe. Tyancha pm jivan Jyoti vima kadhala hota .tyanchi corona mule Death zali.01.04.2021 la .bankela sarv kagadpatre dili aahet parantu ajun vima midala nahi.mob no-9096445901
Manu - 19-Aug-23 @ 3:56 AM
Sir Manohar dinaji dhore at.kharkada ?????.brahmpuri jilha- Chandrapur (m.s.) Yancha pm jivan Jyoti vima kadhala hota ??????? ?????????? death zali .?????? ???? ????????? ????? ????. 3 ???? ???? ???? .??? ???? ?????? ????. Mob no -??????????
Manu - 19-Aug-23 @ 3:46 AM
I send money 8 August 2023. Rs 30000 To unknown Bank Alfalah acount number 01391008204184 his name is Moiz Haroon. Please return my money. Thank you
Tossi - 18-Aug-23 @ 10:20 AM
I have complain last month I ask the bank to stop deal direct to deduct from my account tymebank but even this month they still deduct
Fikzo - 2-Aug-23 @ 11:52 AM
Hi,I collected a loan but there is over deduction please can I get an explanation. Thank you
Milly - 28-Jul-23 @ 12:21 PM
i writing this letter for my bvn complan to free my account for wach lise for stabin ibct bank
pharooukq - 25-Jul-23 @ 4:19 PM
i writing this letter for my bvn complan to free my account for wach lise
pharooukq - 25-Jul-23 @ 4:17 PM
Namaste, Mera naam kavita gautam h. M kay salo se central bank of india branch sihani ki customer rhi hu. Bank ki service bahut acchi h, isliya muja kabi koi dikkat nhi hui bank se related, lakin 19 july, 2022 ko 4:41 sham ko mna DIVYA UNNATI CO- OPERATIVE SOCIETY ko 1990 rs ki payment ki thi. Payment mera account se debit ho gye thi but receiver k account m nhi pauch paye. Mna phle google pay customer care pr baat ki unhone bola k payment bank se deduct hui h to bank hi refund kraga. Phir m bank gye phle to bank na koi sunvaye nhi ki mna bhut chakkar kata tb jaka unhone meri complain Mumbai m kisi portal pr ki. M pta krna gye 1 month bad to bank na bola k hma nhi pta payment kyu nhi aaye. Pura 1 year ho chuka h mera payment ko. Plz meri payment refund kra dijya. Dhanyavaad Kavita Gautam
Poem - 18-Jul-23 @ 8:50 AM
Good evening, my name is Clarence Brooks and I have been a Bank of America customer for well over 26 years. Recently you sent me a solicitation that I qualified for a $500 credit card. I applied and wasapproved. I got the card tonight and on the card that said you can call or you can go online to activate this card. Since I'm not very tech-wise I decided to call the 1-800 number to activate my card, spoke to Daniel. In the midst of our conversation Daniel asked me for my cell phone number, I explained to him that I just got the cell phone and I don't know the number that my wife give it to you. He agreed and I gave him 352-673-0271Like I said it's new. I also explained to Daniel that I do not know how to use that phone for text or anything other than to answer it if someone calls. I asked if he could use My wife's cell phone number and he said hold on and put me on hold. After a couple minutes he came back, said that he's very sorry but he can't verify since I cannot receive a text on my cell phone. And that I must come into the location with two forms of ID. I still don't understand what the issue was and why he could not use my wife's cell phone number to verify who we were. Both our names are on our bank account with Bank of America, which we have had for 26 years as I previously stated. We hung up from Daniel and said we'll just go online to activate this card. Lo and behold my wife went online with me standing next to her, and we found out that Daniel had put a restriction on this card to activate it. He wants me to come with two forms of ID to the bank to verify who I am even though there are many other options he could have used. I work by myself for myself. In this time of economic crisis I really don't have the luxury of taking time off to sit in a bank of America to prove who I am. I was hoping that I could call back and speak to another person. I spoke with serando who transferred me to his supervisor Priscilla. After a bunch of lip service, Priscilla said that it was protocol for the person to come into the bank and prove who they were. I repeated ,not according to Daniel, all's I had to do was answer a text message and it would have been fine. I am just very disappointed in this corporation and the customer service that I have just been exposed to. There's now a restriction on the account for the visa credit card and if we close the cc account it's going to hit me with negative credit score. So I would just like to let you know that I will not be closing that account out, it will be sitting there in limbo till the end of time . And then in the meantime after that if you looked and see that we both have our social security checks and we use that bank quite a lot, we were most likely be moving it to Florida credit Union. You can thank Daniel for his horrible customer service and you can thank Priscilla for not being able to understand that a 64-year-old man with high blood pressure doesn't need this much stress to o
Horrible customer se - 14-Jul-23 @ 1:42 AM
Do bar hamare accounts se rupye kate gaye 19/5/2023 Se 22/5/2023 keep beach mien hamne 3000 rupee kai baar mein Dalejo account mein so nhi karte Aur 21/6/2023 ko hamare accounts mien 8000 kuch rupye thejis mien interest fees kati gai 4700 rupee lekin account mien dikha raha the sirf 800 kuch rupye
Youzar - 12-Jul-23 @ 6:54 AM
For more than 2 years, our company has been a client of the Bulgarian iCard payment system. In March of this year, our service was limited in the use of accounts, and later the accounts were blocked altogether on a far-fetched pretext. Withdrawal of funds from the account could be made within 2 months to such a company account in another bank, after which the accounts were closed and a commission of 200 euros per month was imposed on the balance of funds when transferring to another company's current account. However, when we opened an account in a payment system outside the European Union, we were refused such a transfer. Since it is assumed that it is possible to transfer funds exclusively within the European Union. It is not clear to me on what basis they introduced such a restriction, which seems to me illegal.
SIET - 12-Sep-22 @ 11:00 AM
I need help with a letter to Barclays Bank , my husband and I had a joint account we split up And I had to get written permission from husband to take his name off so it would be a sole Account, 7 months later we tried again , un be known to me until a month ago ,after we split again I found out that Barclays had given my husband access to the once joint account without my permission , I know they've breached protocol and they know it to but now I have to write a letter of complaint , I also know they should compensate me , just not sure what to write.
Heat67 - 20-Aug-19 @ 6:50 PM
my draughter phone was stolen recent she had mobile banking and apple pay fraud was commit using the phone and the bank has refuse her claim on the basis thatthey were able to gain access on the phone how can we dispute this.
nickyy - 12-Sep-18 @ 5:30 PM
Share Your Story, Join the Discussion or Seek Advice...
Title:
(never shown)
Firstname:
(never shown)
Surname:
(never shown)
Email:
(never shown)
Nickname:
(shown)
Comment:
Validate:
Enter word:
Topics
Latest Comments